This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.7 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.7
Property location
9.6
Facilities
9.7
Staff
9.9
Value
9.6
Reviews
    nl
    9.6
    17 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Alessandro
    ch
    9.6
    29 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Yaxian
    hk
    9.2
    10 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ashutosh
    hk
    9.6
    31 December 2017
    Staff is polite and really helpful. I liked the location of the hotel bit away from the city centre which makes it quite place for stay located in mid of mountains
    au
    7.5
    30 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Smith
    fr
    10
    16 December 2017
    magical break
    Beautiful views of karst mountains from window, lovely clean rooms, great dinners on garden patio with charming English speaking staff. Inexpensive bike rentals on site for rides through farming countryside, water buffalo, rice, ancient stone villages. Manager very helpful in suggesting and arranging reasonably priced driving tours of area as well if wanted, and arranging visit to night lights show on river. Wish we had been able to stay much longer. Much better here than staying in city of Yangshuo itself with seemed extremely touristy and crowded.
    Nicholas
    fr
    10
    16 December 2017
    outstanding
    We stayed in Ancient Garden for six nights. It was wonderful. The deco in each room is unique and beautiful. The front desk staff showed us each room and offered us the opportunity to move, if we like. We did not due to too many stuff. But looking through each room is like another tour. The location is good and quiet. Only ten minutes from the major crowd. The Ancient Garden office has advertisement looking for additional staffs. It stated looking for "Family members". The staffs are not only friendly, but the most intriguing charactericstic is that we found them genuinely sincere. We truly felt they are family members. Many hotels inYangshuo, including Ancient Garden are beautiful.
    Noyes
    fr
    10
    15 December 2017
    just like home
    We had planned 3 nights in this wonderful small hotel. Our plans changed and we were thrilled to be able to stay for 5 nights. The rooms, beds and bathrooms were up to Western standards and very comfortable. The restaurant was great - lots of choices and flexibility. It was a treat to have pizza with good cheese and excellent Chinese food make with their own vegetables. And experience the local special- Guilin rice noodles! The highlight of the stay was the staff. What an opportunity for the local young men and women to work in this hotel. We enjoyed them so much that we wanted to take them home. We wish the owner of the hotel(although we don’t know who he is) the best of luck in growing their business. The hotel is on a slightly busy road but this did not affect our sleep at all-rather it attracted a variety of travelers to the restaurant.
    Palmer
    fr
    10
    15 December 2017
    love it
    We stayed at Ancient Garden this past weekend for three nights and can not fault one thing. It's one of these places we will keep on going back to. The design is well thought out, food is yummy and service could not be any better. The surrounding area is breathtakingly beautiful and worth exploring. Shawnee and Kenny know the area inside out so we went with their recommendations of places to see off the beaten track. Thanks again to Ancient Garden for making our weekend truly special!
    Wolf
    fr
    10
    15 December 2017
    you won’t be disappointed when you choose this hotel
    Stayed for two nights while touring local Yangshuo pinnacles and Li River. Wonderful little oasis out of the bustling town, with amazing views. Service was typical Chinese; great. They even let my wife cook up some vegetables she bought at an old market in their kitchen. Food was great so there was no reason to go out. The rooms were beautifully appointed with local Chinese style. Room we stayed in was large with a sitting area desperate from the bedroom. All rooms have have a view of the pinnacles. My tour guide, from the local area, told us we really made the right choice as she has been to most hotels in Yangshuo and she stated that the Ancient Garden was the best.? Choose it and you won't be disappointed.
    Serge
    fr
    9.6
    14 December 2017
    If you're willing to find a place where you’ll find a perfect experience in Yangshuo, this is the place. The location is quiet, in a village very close to the city center, where you can go very quickly. You will be amazed by the location with incredible views on the mountains, the rooms are new modern and with practical facilities. You will be impressed by the professionalism of the staff, whatever you need they will answer in a proper manner and a smile, trying to do their best to help. Do not hesitate to stop at the restaurant for a great breakfast or dinner, this will make your day!
    Horatio
    gb
    10
    14 December 2017
    excellent
    My wife and I and our two small children stayed at yangshuo Ancient Garden in early February, it was newly open. we were collected at Guilin airport and brought to the Hotel and were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff that all speak excellent english, they even carried our bags up to the room, The hotel is in a stunning location under the karst peaks far enough from yangshuo town for some peace and quiet but less than 10 minutes in a taxi. We always looked forward to getting back to the hotel in the evening to eat the food and sleep in the room,? I have stayed in a lot of Hotels in China since 2006 and this one is the best !!
    Jackson
    fr
    10
    14 December 2017
    Excellent
    I am a very frequent traveller and visit hotels all over the world, but rarely write a review Strongly recommended. Staff interactions were amazing from the duty manager to the dinning hall manager, to all the Grand Club. When coupled with the wonderful property, this made the 4 nights we spent at the Ancient garden one of the best ever we've had。
    Malthus
    au
    10
    13 December 2017
    luxurious hotel with historic feel
    Staying at the Ancient Garden has been one of the best hotel experiences I have had. Their facilities are world class which is highlighted by the Chinese decoration and architecture used. I would highly recommend staying at this place should you ever be in the area. The staff were all very accommodating and eager to help. The main restaurant also offered delicious local specialties, all at an affordable price. Loved this place!
    James
    ir
    10
    12 December 2017
    tranquility
    Had a memorable experience staying in the Ancient Garden. unfortunately only manage to stay 3 nights due to the over booked. my family prefer clean, quite and do enjoy peace and tranquility while spending time together and enjoying the beautiful night view. . (especially after a full day of walking and riding ) to be honest, just staying at the hotel, you can gain a lot. Ancient Garden shows a real beauty of ancient china. The style, the furniture, the wonderful little things they provided for us. The staff are excellences too, we strongly recommend this hotel.
    Blume
    de
    10
    12 December 2017
    unforgettable stay
    We were traveling from Shangri La, Guilin(it is said to be the beat hotel in Guilin, but I don’t think so) to Ancient Garden for 2 nights stay. The driver came to pick us up in the hotel lobby and drove us to a pier. We took a boat to Yangshuo! After four hours’ trip by boat, another driver met us at the Yangshuo Pier and took us to the hotel. We were surprised that Ancient Garden provided an exceptional service that is better than a 5 star hotel that we have stayed at Guilin. So actually it is the best hotel! Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by Yawen with a hot tea and a big smile. We were offered luggage assistance but we rejected, then we were checked in to our suite king room within 3 minutes. Yawen showed us to our room with a briefed orientation of our room. We have a nice mountain and village view from our balcony. The furniture was authentic and you could have the feel of living in an ancient Chinese house. There is a place for people to sit quietly and think which is like a church is beyond my expectation. I would like to thanked the waitress and was amazed with the service that she provided. She was alone at the restaurant and also take care of room service. We were surprised that all of the staff could remember us with our room number. All of our expenses could be charge to our room and paid upon check out which was very convenient and worry free of our cash.
    Simpson
    au
    10
    12 December 2017
    can’t be better
    An absolutely lovely guest house with extremely comfortable beds (from the western perspective). The view from the rooms is outstanding, and the customer service was flawless. The restaurant is very nice, catering to both eastern and western tastes. It‘s nice that they rent bicycles for the day, and they are well situated for lovely bike rides and walks right from the front door. The air conditioning units are great and it just took a second to cool the room. If you go there in the summer, you‘ll be extremely grateful for them.
    Boswell
    de
    10
    12 December 2017
    beautiful
    One of the best parts of the Guilin trip was going back to my hotel suite in Ancient Garden - with friendly staff that felt more like friends than staff. My friend had stomache after eating something spicy in Guilin, and the staff personally helped us out with kind advice and gave us some tea to release the umcomfort. As an architect, the design and styling of the rooms were impeccable! and some rooms also overlook the river. Beautiful experience.
    Maria Herminia
    mo
    10
    11 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Strachey
    de
    10
    10 December 2017
    great
    On a 25 day trip in China this was our favourite hotel from a list of four star hotels several of which were "upgraded". Really peaceful and perfectly located, the staff were all pleasant and helpful the breakfasts tasty and plentiful. Tea and biscuits seemed to be available around the clock and appeared whenever we passed through reception.
Loading reviews
Close